Translation Prizes

Translation Prizes

Since 2019, the British-Italian Society has sponsored the annual Warwick University Translation Prizes for translations from Italian into English by undergraduate students in the United Kingdom. Prizes have been awarded to:


Winner:  Ellie Tippett-Wilson, University of Durham.

Runner-up:  Ruby Kelman, Edinburgh University.


Winner:   Alex Joseland, University of York.

Runner-up:  Jemma Henry, Cambridge University.


Until 2010 the society also supported the John Florio Prize for Translation.

John Florio (1555-1625) was a distinguished writer and translator of Italian Protestant descent, who lived and worked in London. He translated Boccaccio’s Decameron and published two Italian-English dictionaries.

The John Florio Prize is awarded biennially for the best English translation of a full-length Italian work of literary merit and general interest. It was first awarded in 1963.

The prize was co-sponsored, until 2010, by the British-Italian Society and the Society of Authors in London.

The winners from 2000 to 2010 were:

2010 – Jamie McKendrick – The Embrace: Selected Poems (Valerio Magrelli, Faber)

2008 – Peter Robinson – The Greener Meadow (Luciano Erba, Princeton University Press)

2006 – Carol O’Sullivan & Martin Thom – Kuraj (Silvia de Natale, Bloomsbury)

2004 – Howard Curtis – Coming Back (Edoardo Albinati, Hesperus Press)

2002 – Stephen Satarelli – Prince of the Clouds (Gianni Riotta, Flamingo)

2000 – Martin McLaughlin – Why Read the Classics? (Italo Calvino, Jonathan Cape)